Recycle Bin Misperceptions

I have to say that it boggles my mind on a regular basis when I start talking to end users during a session or when interviewing users in client engagements to find out that they don’t quite understand how the end user and site collection administrator recycle bins work. Most of the time I find that users have the perception that it’s a serial process where once they delete a file, they have thirty days until the file is then moved to a secondary recycle bin where a new timer kicks off – unfortunately this is wrong.

“By default, items in the Recycle Bin are deleted automatically after 30 days. Regardless of whether or not an item is sent to the users’ Recycle Bin or to the Site Collection Recycle Bin, items are deleted automatically after the number of days that the server administrator specified in Central Administration.”

As you can see, it’s plain and simple, 30 days is 30 days, no less no more.

Source: http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/sharepoint-foundation-help/manage-the-recycle-bin-of-a-site-HA010380088.aspx

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s